Project 1: Advanced Montaging

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For our first project of the year, we were instructed to make three things: a tool check, a press pass, and a locker label. All of which would be used to let us check out photo equipment, give us the ability to be out during class, and a place where we could claim and store our work.

In order to do this, Ms. Cheung (photo teacher) took a few pictures of us in the studio for use. Afterwards, we had to pull two stock photos and successfully blend them together. We then use our full body, torso, and face shots and used effects and blending modes to make sure that all blended well and nothing looked (too) out of place.

I learned how to better blend my photos as well as easily cut out objects with the quick selection tool and refine edge option. Because of this, it makes cutting out objects in images have much smoother edges and look more natural when I move them to another image.

So that I could make the project my own and unique, I picked out a stock image of a lighthouse off the coast in Santa Cruz and an image of the San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge, both very close to my heart. I poised myself against the lighthouse and bridge and blended myself into a moon on all three images.

Leave a comment